Julie's Journal

Reflections on my journey through life + some (hopefully) useful info

Fixing WMDC (Windows Mobile Device Center) error 0x80883001

I have been successfully using my Palm Treo 750 (running WM6) with Windows 7 for a few months.

One day I got the following error message:

“There has been a change made on your server that requires you to re-synchronize all items on your device. Please perform a manual sync.”

Support code: 0x80883001


To my knowledge, I hadn’t made ANY changes to my server. Not wanting to resynchonise all items, I Googled for possible solutions.

The most common solution was to toggle Advanced Network Functionality in “Connections | USB to PC”, but that didn’t work for me.

What did work was to modify the Mobile Device Settings in Windows Mobile Device Center

  1. Reboot my PC and the Treo.
  2. Run “Windows Mobile Device Center” (not wmdc.exe) from Control Panel.
    To see the “
    Windows Mobile Device Center” icon in Control Panel, change from “View by: Category” to “View by icon”
  3. Plug in the Treo using the USB cable
  4. Wait “Windows Mobile Device Center” to connect
  5. Under “Mobile Device Settings”, choose “Change content sync settings”
  6. Disable E-mail, Notes and Microsoft Office OneNote
  7. For each of the other categories (Contacts, Calendar, Tasks, Mobile Favorites), click on “Sync Settings” and then [Save] each one

Sat 22 Aug 2009 - Posted by | Technical, Windows, Windows Mobile | , ,

3 Comments »

  1. thanks for this solution: it works and I’ve resolved this problem 0x80883001. I usually accepted to re-synchronize my HTC with the Laptop. But it sometimes came back. Unchecking the E-mail sync has eliminated the problem. Luc from Brussels. 2010.02.21

    Comment by Anonymous | Sun 21 Feb 2010 | Reply

  2. What’s up, I wish for to subscribe for this
    webpage to take most recent updates, thus where can i do it please assist.

    Comment by farmville 2 hack | Thu 14 Aug 2014 | Reply

    • Following is handled by WordPress. You can follow by clicking on the grey “+ Follow” button on the bottom right hand corner of the web page, and then enter your email address.

      Comment by julie9009 | Thu 16 Oct 2014 | Reply


Leave a comment